

GUN SAFETY LEGISLATION

The California Legislature continues to lead the nation on gun safety policy including having already implemented <u>universal background checks, mandatory waiting periods, and point of sales records</u> on all legally purchased firearms. The following list represents a sample of bills I have supported as a legislator relating to gun safety and firearm sales.

SB 715 (2021) - Prohibits minors from possessing a semiautomatic centerfire rifle.

AB 2061 (2020) - Authorizes the Department of Justice to inspect firearms dealers, ammunition vendors, or manufacturers in order to ensure compliance with state and federal firearms laws.

SB 61 (2019) – Prohibits the sale of a semiautomatic center fire rifle to any person under 21 years of age, and bans a person from applying to purchase more than one semiautomatic center fire rifle in any 30-day period.

SB 376 (2019) – Prevents individuals from selling large numbers of firearms without a license by capping the number of annual sales at five transactions or 50 firearms.

AB 645 (2019) – Requires packaging for firearms to contain a warning statement on suicide prevention and requires the written test for the handgun safety certificate to cover the topic of suicide.

AB 879 (2019) – Starting in 2024, requires the sale of firearms precursor parts be conducted through a licensed firearms precursor part vendor.

AB 12 (2019) - Extends the duration of a gun violence restraining order and renewals to a maximum of five years.

AB 61 (2019) - Allows an employer, coworker, employee or teacher of a secondary or post secondary school to file a petition requesting a gun violence restraining order.

AB 164 (2019) – Holds any person subject to a valid restraining order, injunction, or protective order issued out of state to the same restrictions on buying or possessing firearms in California.

COMMUNITY SAFETY LEGISLATION

AB 424 (2017) - Bans firearms on school grounds, removing the ability of school officials to grant exemptions. Exempts law enforcement officers.

AB 1747 (2018) - Expands the responsibility of a school district or county office of education in developing comprehensive school safety plans. This bill would require consultation with first responders and tactical response; including procedures related to individuals with guns on school campuses.

AB 1548 (2019) – Codifies the California State Nonprofit Security Grant Program to improve the physical security of nonprofit organizations that are at high risk of violent attacks or hate crimes due to ideology, beliefs, or mission.

AB 3129 (2018) - Imposes lifetime firearm bans for individuals convicted of misdemeanor domestic violence.

SB 1968 (2018) - Imposes lifetime firearm bans for individuals who have been on involuntary psychiatric hold twice in one year.

AB 7 (2017) - Further extends state ban on open carry of an unloaded firearm other than a handgun in public within a prohibited area located in the unincorporated area of a county.

SB 497 (2017) - Limits the purchase of long guns (rifles, shotguns and lower receivers) to one gun per person within a 30 day period to curb the trafficking of long guns.



GUN SAFETY LEGISLATION

PENDING LEGISLATION

AB 1769 (Co-Author): Prohibits gun shows at the Ventura County Fairground

AB 1594 (Co-Author) and SB 1327: Empowers individuals, including survivors of gun violence, to hold gun manufacturers accountable by allowing for legal actions against manufacturers and retailers of illegal assault weapons and ghost guns.

SB 906 and AB 452: Requires schools to provide annual information to parents on safe at-home storage of guns; requires school officials to report to law enforcement any threat or perceived threat of an incident of mass casualties.

SB 1302: Appropriates \$1 billion to assist schools in building student wellness centers, safe spaces dedicated to providing students with access to comprehensive mental health care.

CURRENT LAW

California has some of the strongest gun safety laws in the nation. In 2021, according to the CDC, the gun death rate in California was the 44th lowest in the nation, with 8.5 gun deaths per 100,000 people – compared to 13.7 deaths per 100,000 nationally. California's gun death rate for children is 58% lower than the national average, proving that gun safety laws work. Currently California:

- · requires universal background checks
- requires a 10 day waiting period before someone can receive their firearms
- · has banned the purchase of assault weapons originally designed for military use
- has banned high capacity magazines
- allows law enforcement (and often family members) to petition for a court order to temporarily
 prevent someone in crisis from accessing guns
- bars domestic abusers from having guns after a misdemeanor conviction
- has cracked down on ghost guns, ensuring they cannot be sold without serial numbers and a background check

California was also one of the first states in the nation to enact a gun violence restraining order. The state also has the most robust system in the country for removing firearms from people who become prohibited from having them due to criminal history.

California also created the **California Violence Intervention and Prevention Program (CalVIP):** This program provides competitive grants to cities and community-based organizations to support services such as community education, diversion programs, outreach to at-risk transitional age youth, and violence reduction models. In 2021, the legislature quadrupled the existing funding for this program to \$200m.

