California's COVID-19 Emergency Relief Package Information
Last week, the Legislature and the Governor approved a $9.6 Billion COVID-19 emergency stimulus package. The package assists the most in-need communities and households that did not receive any federal government assistance in the previous stimulus.
Small Business Support:
- Up to $25,000 grants for small businesses affected by the pandemic.
- $2 billion in tax cuts, allowing small businesses eligible for federal PPP loans to deduct up to $150,000 for state taxes.
- Fee reductions through waivers and license relief to restaurants, barbering, and cosmetology businesses.
- $400 million for child care providers.
- $24 million in funding for Housing for Harvest to help agricultural workers who need to quarantine due to COVID-19.
- $35 million in funding for food and diaper banks.
Direct Financial Relief:
- Provides 5.7 million relief payments to low-income California Residents:
- One-time $600 payment to individuals who earn less than $30,000 and are eligible for the California Earned Income Tax Credit.
- One-time $600 payment to Undocumented households.
- One-time $600 payment to families enrolled in CalWORKS or individuals enrolled in SSI or CAPI programs.
Support for College Students:
- Provides support for community college students and funding for CalFresh outreach.
- Provides $100 million in emergency financial aid for community college students.
- Provides $6 million for outreach and application assistance for CalFresh for CSU, UC, and community college students.
Support for the Arts:
- $50 million in grants for cultural institutions like museums and art spaces.
Do I qualify for the $600 stimulus?
- If you claimed the California Earned Income Tax Credit (CEITC) on your 2020 income tax returns you may be eligible. This benefit is generally for those who earn $30,000 a year or less. If you qualify and you did not claim the CEITC, you can file an amended return on your 2020 taxes to receive the stimulus.
- If you use an individual taxpayer ID number to file income taxes and earn $75,000 a year or less after deductions, you may be eligible. This may apply to those who don’t have Social Security numbers, including undocumented immigrants working in the state.
- If you receive money from the federal supplemental security income (SSI), the state supplementary payment (SSP) programs, or the Cash Assistance Program for Immigrants you may be eligible.
- If your household is enrolled in CalWorks. CalWorks is the state public assistance program that helps families pay for housing, food, and other vital expenses in low-income households with children whose parents are absent, disabled, or passed away you may be eligible.
When will I receive the stimulus?
- According to the Franchise Tax Board, those who are eligible through their tax returns should be receiving the stimulus between 45- 60 days after receiving their state tax refund.
- Those who are eligible for the money through tax returns should get it between 45 days and 60 days after receiving their state tax refunds, according to the Franchise Tax Board.
- CalWorks recipients will have their payment placed on a debit card, which they are expected to receive by mid-April.
My office continues to be of assistance with any state issue you may be experiencing. To reach us, please call (805) 965-0701.
Senator, 19th District